Lecture: The Birth of Planets

Lecture: The Birth of Planets

Share This Content
Original air date: Sept. 10, 2015, at 7 p.m. PT (10 p.m. ET, 0200 UTC)

Thousands of planets are now known outside our solar system, from rocky worlds to "hot Jupiters" to planets orbiting not one, but two stars. So where did all this diversity come from? Join us for a conversation about how planets form, complete with data from the Hubble and Spitzer Space Telescopes, as well as ground-based scopes. See new images and 3-D computer models astronomers are using to try to learn how planets are born into such diversity.

Speaker:
Dr. Neal Turner