Longplayer Assembly 2020

Longplayer Assembly 2020

Share This Content
24 leading thinkers converged in a live non-stop 12-hour conversation relay 10.00 – 22.00 BST Saturday 26 September 2020.

00:20:29 – Introduction from Ansuman Biswas
00:30:29 – Precious Lunga in conversation with Eyal Weizman
01:00:29 – Eyal Weizman in conversation with Brian Eno
01:30:29 – Brian Eno in conversation with Amia Srinivasan
02:00:29 – Amia Srinivasan in conversation with Farhana Yamin
02:30:29 – Farhana Yamin in conversation with Helen Thompson
03:00:29 – Helen Thompson in conversation with Will Prentice
03:30:29 – Will Prentice in conversation with Vibeke Mascini
04:00:42 – Vibeke Mascini in conversation with Theodore Zeldin
04:30:42 – Theodore Zeldin in conversation with Mariana Mazzucato
05:00:42 – Mariana Mazzucato in conversation with Laurie Anderson
05:30:50 – Laurie Anderson in conversation with Mulindwa Moses
06:04:16 – Mulindwa Moses in conversation with Sukhdev Sandhu
06:18:57 – Sukhdev Sandhu in conversation with Ella Finer
06:30:16 – Sukhdev Sandhu in conversation with Saskia Sassen
07:00:37 – Saskia Sassen in conversation with Rupert Beale
07:30:40 – Rupert Beale in conversation with Holly Jean Buck
08:00:00 – Holly Jean Buck in conversation with Jacqueline Springer
08:30:00 – Jacqueline Springer in conversation with Alexander Rose
09:00:00 – Alexander Rose in conversation with Meehan Crist
09:30:00 – Meehan Crist in conversation with Naomi Alderman
10:00:00 – Naomi Alderman in conversation with Saul Griffith
10:30:00 – Saul Griffith in conversation with Catalina Ortiz
11:00:00 – Catalina Ortiz in conversation with John Akomfrah
11:30:00 – John Akomfrah in conversation with Janna Levin

This video has been automatically truncated at 11 hours and 55 minutes, meaning the conversation between John Akomfrah and Janna Levin was cut mid-sentence. You can watch the rest of this conversation, and Janna in conversation with Precious Lunga here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otjbT_QwqHY

The Longplayer Assembly marked the twentieth anniversary of Jem Finer’s Longplayer: a continuous piece of music commissioned by Artangel that began playing at the turn of the millennium, with a duration of 1000 years. Embracing the essence of Longplayer as a contemplation of time, the Longplayer Assembly echoed this continuity through its convergence of 24 participants, from around the world, whose individual specialist work embodies long term thought. Each speaker conversed in turn, passing the virtual baton every 30 minutes in a non-stop 12-hour live relay.

Find out more: https://www.artangel.org.uk/longplayer/longplayer-assembly/

Participants: Alexander Rose, Amia Srinivasan, Brian Eno, Catalina Ortiz, Eyal Weizman, Farhana Yamin, Helen Thompson, Holly Jean Buck, Jacqueline Springer, Janna Levin, John Akomfrah, Laurie Anderson, Mariana Mazzucato, Meehan Crist, Mulindwa Moses, Naomi Alderman, Precious Lunga, Rupert Beale, Saskia Sassen, Saul Griffith, Sukhdev Sandhu, Theodore Zeldin, Vibeke Mascini, and Will Prentice, with an introduction by Ansuman Biswas.

– Produced for Artangel by Tadeo Lopez-Sendon http://tadeosendon.net/
– Live subtitles by StageText, delivered by MyClearText http://www.stagetext.org/
– Image: Graphic design by Rose Nordin http://rosenord.in/
– Presented in association with London Review of Books. Supported by the Trinity Buoy Wharf Trust.